Right, let’s get straight to it with my step by step guide. True confession… boiling eggs is one of my kitchen nightmares and I am not afraid to say I have had many kitchens fail. I don’t know or should I say never been patient to peel eggs properly and smoothly. At least 2 out of 6 eggs comes out wonky, comes off with the shell or broken sometimes with undercooked egg yolks. I do a celebratory dance when all my eggs come out perfectly after peeling. Oh, the little things! Fast forward many trials and errors, tips and tricks, I bring you the best method to make hard boiled eggs that peel easily from the shell and membrane. Perfect yellowish gold yolk and no green ring or rubbery yolk insight too.

Instant pot hard boiled eggs

This is hardly a recipe but you would agree with me that eggs are not the easiest to cook as it requires precision and perfect timing. With stovetop hard-boiled eggs, I boil for 10 minutes over medium heat with at least 1-inch water covering the eggs and that sometimes always prove hard to get right. Boil for 10 minutes or less if you want soft boiled eggs but are you truly cooking them at the right temperature? This is what makes boiling your eggs in the pressure cooker interesting, you do not even need to set a timer as the instant pot would alert you once the cooking cycle is completed. It is fast and quick! More importantly, the eggs cook at the right temperature and they are perfect every time. You can boil as many batches as you want, and the timing would remain the same with perfect consistency. Also, with instant pot eggs, you don’t have to worry about using room temperature eggs, I mostly use eggs straight out of my fridge, and I have never had any issues

What is the 5 5 5 method

It simply means you cook the egg in your electric pressure cooker on high pressure for 5 minutes Do natural pressure release (NPR) for 5 minutes then Give it a cold-water bath for another 5 minutes. I do not often wait around for the whole of 5 minutes as I find any time from 2 minutes good enough. Also, I don’t use Iced water bath, I just use cold water from the tap or simply run the boiled eggs under cold water if I am using just one or 2. Note that 5 5 5 method would not work for soft boiled eggs. You only need to pressure cook for 3 minutes

What you will need to make

hard boiled eggs

6 Eggs: I used free-range large eggs Coldwater

Tools

Trivet or egg steamer rack or steamer basket Instant pot Thong bowl

How to make instant pot hard

boiled eggs

Place the trivet in the inner pot of your instant pot Then add 1 cup of room temperature water Carefully place the eggs on the trivet Lock the instant pot to safety with the valve on the seal position. Select manual or high-pressure button and cook on high pressure for 5 minutes. Once the cooking cycle is completed, let the pot do another 5 minutes natural pressure release then do a quick release. Using a thong, carefully transfer the eggs to the water bath and leave for another 5 minutes. Peel the eggs and serve as desired.

How long to boil eggs in an

instant pot

Please note that this timing would be different for stove top method Soft boiled eggs: 3 minutes, quick release then 5 minutes water bath Instant pot hard boiled eggs: 5 minutes if using the 5 5 5 method or 7 minutes, quick pressure release and quick run under cold water.

How to store hard boiled eggs

Store hard boiled unpeeled eggs in the fridge for up to 1 week or up to 3 days in an airtight container if it is already peeled.

Other quick instant pot recipes

you would love

Instant pot taco meat Instant pot broccoli Instant pot carrots If you made this easy pressure cooker recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback and rate it 5 stars. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 64Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 73Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 47Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 50Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 79Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 13Instant Pot Hard Boiled Eggs - 53