These make the best side dish ever! Let me show you how to cook carrot in a pressure cooker and tips on how to make it on the stove top. I thought I would share with you how I make quick veggies to feed my family and friends when I am caught up with time. Already, I have shared my zero minutes instant pot broccoli; that recipe is foolproof, do check it! I have kept this IP veggie recipe simple and basic, carrots, salt and butter as this is how I serve it on weeknight dinners. Nothing fancy but a delicious, happy mummy, happy family! I would usually up my game when I am having friends around or during the holidays. My go-to recipe is this stovetop brown sugar-glazed carrots which can be made in a pressure cooker too.

Instant Pot Carrot Recipe

Do you want to know what I tell my older daughter when she’s about to say no to carrots? I share with her the health benefits of the veggie and I get away with it every time especially if its carrot juice. I have personally started embracing carrot oil as well.

Carrot like any other veggie is good for the skin, think about that natural glow (that’s not a lie right)It improves digestion and boosts the immune system You get clear vision, healthy teeth and good for your heart.Great source of vitamin A and C Just like the ingredients used in my honey lemon drink recipe.Carrots are healthy and low in calorie, a whopping 100g of carrots is estimated to contain 41 calories. Carrots are dairy-free, gluten-free and naturally sweet. Double this or triple this recipe to suit your needs.

If you have been following my blog a while, you would know I am an advocate for “moderation is key”. Yes, carrots are good for you in any form, steamed or stir-fried but should be consumed in moderation. Incorporating this veggie in your diet every now and then would do your body a lot of good. Right, let’s get into how to make this delicious steamed Instant pot carrots

Ingredients

Carrots Salt to taste: just a pinch, I just love salt in everything Butter Fresh thyme: substitute with chopped parsley  or any other fresh herbs of choice

How to make steamed carrots in your instant pot pressure cooker

Prepare the carrots: Peel the carrots using a potato peeler and cut into equal sizes. See image for reference. Pressure cook: Add a  cup of water to the inner pot of the IP and place the steamer basket in it. add the chopped carrots to the steamer basket. Lock the IP to safety and turn the valve to the sealing position, select manual or high pressure and cook the carrot for 3 minutes Once the pressure cooker completes its cooking cycle and beeps, carefully do a quick pressure release. Take out the steamer basket form the IP and empty the water in the pot. Return the pot to the IP and select the saute function. Return the carrots to the pot, add butter and thyme and stir to combine until the carrot is melted. Serve immediately with mains of choice.

What to serve with steamed carrots

This veggie is versatile, very forgiving and can be served with anything and everything Here are a few serving suggestions for you, Try this steamed carrots with this coconut rice or  pressure cooker rice and chicken Stove top chicken thighs Creamy garlic mashed potatoes Perfect roast potatoes Creamy mushroom pasta Simple roast chicken

Tips

Use steamer basket or trivet to avoid over cooking your carrots

Cut the carrots into equal sizes so they cook evenly. Let the size of the carrots guide you in timing how long to cook the veggie for. If you sliced the carrots to a thickness of a pound coin size then I would suggest 1 minute. Anything over the thickness of 1cm, do 2 to 3 minutes. NOTE: thickness in this contest is the smaller width of your sliced carrots.

Use the steam function if you want. I own 5.7ltr pressure king pro and I found the 3 minutes steam function too much at 3 minutes. If you are using the steam mode in your pressure cooker, start with 2 minutes and you can cook for longer if the veggies are not tender to your liking.

How long to steam carrots on the stove top

To make steamed carrot on the stove top, cut the carrots into desired sizes. Place a pan on medium heat, add 1 ½ cups of water, sliced carrots and simmer for 6 to 10 minutes or until tender to taste.

How to store

Cooked carrots can stay up to 5 days in the refrigerator in an airtight container. Store in the freezer for up to 3 months. Reheat in the microwave, on the stovetop or cook from frozen as of when needed If you made this instant pot steamed carrots recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback and rate it 5 stars. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 98Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 77Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 89Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 77Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 34Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 5Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 42Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 38Instant Pot Carrots  Steamed in 3 minutes  - 2