I was making chicken quesadilla the other day and I found out I didn’t have any more taco seasoning mix in my pantry. I am a very lazy driver and I am not the first to handle the wheels for a quick grocery shopping. Since I mostly make my quesadilla with taco seasoning, I quickly made another batch that would last me another month.   Taco seasoning mix is not only great in quesadillas and taco meat alone, you can use them on these recipes: chicken, chillies, soups, ground beef, rice dishes, weeknight tacos. In my opinion, your burrito and tacos are not complete without this DIY seasoning mix. Honestly, after you learn how to make this easy homemade taco seasoning, you will never go back to shop bought. Not only is it quick, you will be surprised the ingredients are what you already have in your pantry to make this taco seasoning recipe. It is inexpensive and you can know exactly what you are consuming. No fillers, additives or any other artificial ingredients. Nothing in this homemade taco seasoning recipe that you can’t pronounce. It is gluten free too

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

For this recipe, you would need the following ingredients to make your own taco seasoning mix in less than 5 minutes. You will forget that taco seasoning packet after today Oregano Paprika: smoked paprika or the sweet one. I used smoked paprika for more intense flavour Garlic Powder Onion Powder Salt Cumin Chilli powder: for good measure of heat, I would use this according to preference especially if you would be adding black pepper to the mix Crushed peppers optional Cornflour, this is also optional, and I didn’t use it this time.

How To Make Easy Homemade Taco Seasoning

Add all the spice ingredients to a small bowl and mix to combine. Transfer into a dry spice jar or airtight container. You will need about 2 tablespoons (about 30g equivalent of 1 seasoning pack) of the mix for 1 pound (about 450g) of ground beef

How to Store It

Homemade taco seasoning mix can last up to 6 months. You should be aware of the expiry dates of the different spices used so as to judge how long to keep it for.

Tips

Customise taco mix to suit your taste, especially on how much chilli pepper you add

Since it is very easy to make, make a small batch at a time, that way you are always guaranteed fresh spice mix

Keep away from direct sunlight, Label it and add a date if you wish.

More DIY homemade spice mix

Italian seasoning herb de Provence seasoning Peri peri seasoning Shawarma seasoning Fajita seasoning recipe

Other Recipes On The Blog You Should Try

Easy Baked Chicken Legs Stove Top Chicken Thighs Add this taco mix to this pressure cooker shredded chicken Your Instant pot taco meat recipe is incomplete without this seasoning. If you made this easy homemade taco seasoning recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox

Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe - 15Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe - 38Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe - 64Homemade Taco Seasoning Recipe - 73