Let me show you how to make this super easy recipe in four steps. Boil, Saute, Mix and serve. I love to serve Tuna pasta with homemade garlic bread.

Tuna Pasta Recipe

When I was eating this canned tuna pasta, the words that kept ringing in my ears were “The blessing of the LORD brings wealth, without any grief” Prov 10:22. Before you ask, I don’t know why these words came to me, but I reckon the simplicity of today’s post played a part to it How easy can easy be with tuna pasta dish. This dish literally takes 15 minutes to make. It doesn’t require any stress and yet it comes out busting with flavours from the simple ingredients used. This dish is mildly creamy as I wanted to keep it healthy so I added half a tub of cream cheese to it just to jazz it up a bit. Yes, I am justifying my passage by saying, you can make beautiful dishes in your kitchen that is not only cheap but also easy to make with delicious flavours and satisfied tummies too.   great examples of related recipes on the blogs are lemon garlic pasta and instant pot ramen noodles.

Why this canned tuna pasta recipe is so good

I sound like a broken record already but canned tuna pasta is an affordable dish. This recipe would cost you less than £3 to make Even your fussiest would eat this dish, especially when served with a side of homemade garlic bread. My kids love this pasta dish and I am not about to give it away that it only takes about 10 to 15 minutes to make. You can use any pasta you have at hand One of the beauties of this simple pasta dish is that you can cook the pasta and the sauce simultaneously. If the pasta will take 10 minutes to cook, prep the other ingredients while this is happening. The leftover from the recipe makes a great lunch the next day and it keeps well in the fridge too for some few days.

Ingredients

Pasta, any type and shapes of pasta works for this recipe from spaghetti to linguine to fusilli etc Canned chunk tuna in oil, I prefer to use this as to the one in the brine or spring water. Also, I find the canned tuna in oil chunkier than the other. Olive oil, swap this with any flavourless cooking oil you have. Onion Fresh garlic cloves Cream cheese, this is optional as you also use parmesan cheese or any other cheese of choice. Red pepper flakes, swap for cayenne pepper to make it spicier. Pasta water salt and freshly ground black pepper

How to make canned tuna pasta

boil the pasta with salt according to packet instructions until andante, in my case, I cooked the pasta in my instant pot pressure cooker on high pressure for 4 minutes then carefully did a quick release. While the pasta is cooking, chop the onions and garlic and drain the tuna if you haven’t already. When the pasta is cooked, reserve some pasta water and drain the pasta. Place a pan on medium heat and add olive oil and heat until hot. Add chopped onions a and sauté for about 2 minutes then add the chopped garlic and continue to saute until soft and fragrant Lower the heat and add the red pepper flakes then stir to combine. Add the drained pasta and stir into the sautéed aromatic then followed by the cream cheese and pasta water. Stir thoroughly to combine. Finally, add the drained tuna and mix into the pasta stirring carefully so as not to break the fish too much. Finish off with some chopped parsley, stir into the pasta, take it off the heat and serve immediately.

Tips

Stir in some spinach to this dish for some colours and obviously to make it healthier. I didn’t have any at hand when I made this recipe

I love capers with tuna but my family are not a fan of it so if capers is for you, add it to this dish. So good.

Adjust red pepper flakes to suit your taste or go hard by making it spicy.

Add a squeeze of lemon juice if desired

Bake your tuna pasta or make it into casserole if desired. When making this, make sure you have some sauce in the final dish before baking so it doesn’t come out dry.

Make this recipe gluten free by using gluten free pasta.

How to store

In the fridge, this recipe would stay fresh in the fridge for up to 5 days in an airtight container at the right temperature. Tuna pasta can be frozen for up to 3 months, make sure the pasta is completely cooled before storing away.

More pasta recipes on the blog you would love

Instant pot chicken pasta Salmon pasta without cream Creamy mushroom pasta Creamy cajun chicken pasta Broccoli pasta Pan fried gnocchi with spinach and tomatoes Quick spaghetti Bolognese If you made this canned tuna pasta recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 89Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 43Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 38Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 19Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 43Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 64Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 29Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 92Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 47Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 81Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 23Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 44Canned Tuna Pasta Recipe - 61