This tartare sauce will give store-bought a run for its money. Let me show you how to make it easy steps.

Best Homemade tartar sauce

My first experience of tartar sauce wasn’t great at all but I was determined to give it another. After trying a few of the store-bought sauce, it was either too thin, tasteless, sour or too vinegary. I took the plunge one day and finally made mine at home, I must say it wasn’t perfect at first but after a few tries, I nailed it and made the best tartare sauce ever. Even my picky eaters love this tartar sauce with their fish. Our go-to is when we pair it with this air fryer fish sticks, fish burger, pan fried cod, or scampi. Occasionally, they would have it with homemade oven chips or potato wedges. By the way, tartar sauce is a French word and it is spelt tartare in the UK.

Why you need to make your own at home

You know exactly what is going into the sauce. Do you know that most store-bought ones use egg yolk powder and other nasty ingredients in making their tartare sauce? Yes, you read that right, only a few of them and more expensive ones use real egg yolk that is free range.   It is a simple condiment to make at home and you can customise it to taste. The rest of the ingredients like capers and pickles can be used in other dishes. I love using capers in tuna salads and sometimes munch on the gherkins as a snack.

Tartar sauce Ingredients

I have kept my recipe simple and classic with ingredients variations if you would like to change things up. Good quality full-fat mayonnaise: I used store-bought but if you are feeling adventurous, you can try my homemade mayonnaise from my other website. Substitute with light mayonnaise to make it low-calorie. Capers: this is optional Gherkin: substitute with dill pickle Fresh parsley: substitute with dill or tarragon Lemon juice: substitute for pickle juice Salt and black pepper

Variations

Finely chopped shallots or onions: substitute for a good quality onion powder Dijon mustard Worcestershire sauce Garlic paste Sugar

Tools used to make this tartare Sauce recipe.

While it is important to have all the ingredients you need for this recipe handy so it is to have the tools as well. You work through things quicker this way. Mixing bowl Small whisk: This is a lot more effective than spoon or a fork.   Airtight container: I mostly used recycled jam or chutney jars. I wash the containers and leave them to air dry. On the day of use, I give it a quick rinse then soak it with hot water, leave it to sit for a few minutes then leave to cool. Alternatively, I microwave the jars for a few minutes if they are microwavable.

How to make the best homemade tartar sauce

Finely chop the capers, parsley, and gherkins then set aside To a mixing bowl, add mayonnaise, chopped parsley, gherkin, capers, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Carefully whisk to combine, make sure all the ingredients come together. Transfer to a serving bowl or an airtight container and place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes for best result. This way, the flavours would develop but that said, you can serve this delicious, slightly tangy sauce immediately.

What to serve it with

It will make a great accompaniment on your cheese board You can even pair it with my baked salmon in foil. Air fryer frozen French fries Roasted cauliflower and broccoli, it would be a great dipper. how long does tartar sauce last in the fridge? This delicious homemade sauce will last for up to 7 days in the fridge in an airtight container. See above for how I treat my jars for storing condiments. Is tartar sauce vegan Yes, it can be made vegan, simply swap the full-fat real mayonnaise for the vegan mayo. You can now find vegan mayo in every supermarket or outdoor market.

More condiments and sauces recipe

Homemade tomato sauce The best fry sauce Easy no-cook pizza sauce If you made this super easy homemade tartare sauce recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox

Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 99Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 15Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 77Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 29Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 45Best Homemade Tartar Sauce Recipe - 63